B2B Marketers » Reach Pre-Qualified IT Decision Makers with a Custom Lead Gen Program » Get Details
Welcome Guest | Sign In
TechNewsWorld.com
Salesforce Commerce Solution Guide

LinuxInsider Talkback

ECT News Community   »   LinuxInsider Talkback   »   Re: Google's All Access Music Service Starts on the Right Note

Re: Google's All Access Music Service Starts on the Right Note
Posted by KS2Problema on 2013-05-29 18:25:48
In reply to Patrick Nelson
I was a little taken aback by the title, but I was happy to see a well balanced take up the ups and downs of Google's new service.

As a long time fan of on-demand streaming music subscription (since 2004), and having used a number of services over the years, and being a musician, I was eager to see how Google's entry into the field would hit the ground.

Sadly, I can't say it hit the ground running. To be literal, it was broken when I first signed up and only became functional later in the day. If you're charitable with your definition of functional, anyhow.

The three primary things an experienced consumer looks for in a streaming service are: selection, audio quality, and the user interface.

(An added consideration these days is social media integration, which can be both fun and a source of robo-recommendations based on what friends are listening to on their own streaming service.)

First off, and, perhaps, foremost, the selection on roll out was shockingly anemic.

Ever heard of the Rolling Stones? The aforementioned MOG has about 70 albums (some dupes, different masterings, etc) from the Stones. Google All Access listed 10.

Other artists were similarly sketchy -- when I could find them at all.

The user interface was primitive and a bit clunky (as we may have come to expect from Google's online efforts) but worked well enough.